How can light be negative?

Well, here I was, with my mug filled with coffe, a coat to thwart off the cold and a nice cushion to sit on! It’s still only 35 F (2 C), but an article in a health magazine, I’d just been reading, was pointing on the positive in going outside and let the light be all around me even if it’s ‘only’ a pale spring sun.

I began to relax a bit, talked to the bunnies, tried to convince my bold female to come and have a cuddle, but she refused. After a few minutes of all this pleasure I saw it:

Somehow the critters had gnawed through the plastic grid, I’d folded around the apple tree! A few days ago I saw they had ruined the grid and eaten a fair share of the bark down by the base of the tree. I put some metal grid around instead and didn’t want to think more about it.

Last year I’d placed a clematis to work itself up the apple tree and give some delightful colors from the flowers. Already it had reached half the tree. Now half of it won’t reach anything. The critters had cut half the plant in the attempt to get to the bark.

Positive my ass! I’m not very fond of the two critters right now!

– and the light?

It’s a highly overrated ton of crap! Makes me able to see the dust, the filth on the windows’ glasses, and all the other things that had a nice secret life in the darkness!

Spring is overrated! Not enough energy in me to enjoy all the new shoot working themselves up through the snow, barely done with the frost yet.

And the shoots? I have no idea which ones are ‘good’ ones and which ones are not! The critters can’t even help. They usually let the ‘bad’ ones come up freely it seems! Except for those with an ‘onion’ as base! They won’t eat those either! Except for the yellow tulips!

How do they even know, which shoots are from the yellow tulips?

So I’ve not gotten more out of it than questions and anger the few minutes I’ve spend in the light!

And the critters? They are completely indifferent about my agony! Placing their little calling cards everywhere they like. And …

Aaaaawww – now she’s grooming him!

Isn’t that just lovely? They are so happy about the spring, and the sun gaining power enough to be just perceptible on the skin.

All the shoots coming up are thoroughly checked by the two hard working fur-coats to find out if they can be eaten, and ALL the grids placed around plants, I’d like to have growing, are thoroughly checked as well to find spots where they might be weak! Each and every day the same methodic way. Intriguing, fascinating.

I think I’ll take my cushion and go out into the light once more and ignore all the negative things that will make me jump around and act even more like an ass than usual!

The negative is for winter and winter is almost over with its beautiful glittering snow dunes, and frosty tree branches towards a pale blue sky!

Sigh! It seems there’s some positive to everything – even darkness … and light!

